COVID-19 Updates:  See latest information for 2020/21 applicants, DkIT staff and students via our dedicated webpage  Read More.

The Thomas D’Arcy McGee Politicians Forum Brexit: Back to the Future.

16 August 2019

Carlingford, Wednesday 20th August 2019

With the clock ticking louder by the day towards a no deal Brexit, the EU Commissioner for Agriculture, Phil Hogan, Sir Jeffrey Donaldson M.P., Brid Rogers, Claire Sugden MLA, and Conor Murphy, MLA will consider the impact of Brexit on a border that had almost evaporated, but threatens to return in a deluge of abuse and administrative necessities.

The politicians’ forum, ‘Brexit – Back to the Future’, under the chairmanship of political broadcaster and author, Eamonn Mallie, is one of the highlights of the 8th the Thomas D'Arcy McGee Summer School in Carlingford, Co Louth on Tuesday 20th and Wednesday 21st August.

The contribution of Phil Hogan, EU Commissioner for Agriculture, will be particularly interesting given the prospect of tariffs being applied by our largest and closest market, as well as the implications of the EU South American trade deal. The politicians, from both communities and either side of the border, will be invited to consider how they envisage Ireland post Brexit. Which union will determine our economic, social and political daily lives? Their answers will surely excite debate with the audience and, perhaps, offer insights as to how Brexit might play out.

In Anthony Russell’s latest political and historical fantasy Conn O’Neill (1574 – 1619), the last Gaelic Lord of east Belfast, is called from the grave to answer the charge that he and his fellow chiefs, including Hugh O’Neill and Rory O’Donnell, betrayed Ulster and her people.

And fiddle maestro Gerry O’Connor is joined by fellow Dundalk flute player, Nula Kennedy, to provide a foot tapping evening of the best of Irish traditional music at the School’s Folk Nite.

Cross border musical harmonies will be provided by the Altnaveigh and Carlingford pipe bands in a spectacular open-air display at the Thomas D'Arcy McGee Exhibition Centre, to celebrate the bestowing of the Irish Canadian Person of the Year award to Pat O’Callaghan. The award’s first recipient was General John de Chastelain in 2018, and this year’s award and citation will be delivered by Ray Bassett, former Irish Ambassador to Canada.

The programme is being delivered by a local consortium, including the Thomas D'Arcy McGee Foundation, Dundalk Institute of Technology, Carlingford Lough Heritage Trust, the Irish Canadian University Foundation and Altnaveigh House, Newry.

For further information, interviews etc, contact Tommy Fegan, 00 44 7545 926 773

Useful Links:

Carlingford Heritage Centre

Media Enquiries:

  • Thomas Redmond
  • Head of Marketing & Communications