Skip to main content

Governing Body

Information on Governing Body at Dundalk Institute of Technology including members, reports and notes.

The requirement for a Governing Body for Institutes of Technology and the method of their appointment are set out in Section 6 of the Regional Technical Colleges Act 1992 (the Act). This section was amended by Section 4 of the Regional Technical Colleges (Amendment) Act 1994 (the Amendment Act) and Section 109 of the Higher Education Authority Act 2022 (the Higher Education Authority Act).

The current Governing Body was appointed on 4 June 2020 for a five year term ending on 31 March 2025. However, the provisions of the Higher Education Authority Act 2022 now alter that term of office to conclude on a date, not later than 9 November 2023.

The Governing Body is accountable to the Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science and is responsible for ensuring good governance. The Governing Body is collectively responsible for leading and directing the Institutes’ activities and fulfils key functions, including:

  • Reviewing and guiding strategic direction and major plans of action
  • Risk management policies and procedures,
  • Annual budgets and business plans
  • Setting performance objectives
  • Monitoring implementation and Institute performance
  • Overseeing major capital expenditure and investment decisions.

The Governing Body acts on a fully informed and ethical basis, in good faith, with due diligence and care, and in the best interest of the Institute, having due regard to its legal responsibilities and the objectives set by Government

List of Current Members

View the list of current Governing Body members and their roles.

View Members

Reports and Publications

View the latest DkIT Institute Reports and Publications.

View Reports and Publications

Governing Body Minutes

Read minutes from previous Governing Body Meeting Minutes.

Read Minutes

"Section 6 of the Regional Technical Colleges Act, 1992 provides for the Governing Body, which consists of the following members: a Chairman, the President, six persons nominated by the VECs, three staff, (two academic, one non-academic), two registered students, one nomination by the ICTU, and five persons considered (by the Academic Council) to be representatives of industry, agriculture, commerce, the professions and other interests as appropriate to the activities of the college."

Source: DkIT Self Study 2003