COVID-19 Updates:  See latest information for 2020/21 applicants, DkIT staff and students via our dedicated webpage  Read More.

Academic Calendar 2020/2021

Most programmes are organised on a semester basis with two semesters per academic year. Apprenticeship programmes may run on a different timetable. In certain cases, where work placement is involved, these dates may vary. If in doubt students should contact their relevant department office.

SEMESTER 1 - 2020 - September to December                                                                                                                                             

8 September        Tuesday

Part-time course Information Evening

14 September Monday

Semester 1 starts for 2nd & 3rd year Nursing & Midwifery Students

28 - 29 September Monday-Tuesday

1st Year Registration/Induction Semester 1 starts for all 1st Year Students

28 September Monday

Start Date for Apprentice Block

30 September Wednesday Semester 1 starts for all other students
26 - 30 October Monday-Friday 

Study/Reading Week

26 - 30 October Monday-Friday  Conferring
13 November Friday Undergraduate Open Day
14 November Saturday  Open Morning
11 December Friday Term 1 ends for Apprentices
18 December Friday Semester 1 ends

Institute Closes 24 December 2020

Re-Opens 4th January 2021

4 January Monday Start date for Apprentice Block
5 January Monday Start Date for Winter Examinations

SEMESTER 2 - 2021 - January to August                                                                                                                                              

23 January                          Saturday 

CAO and Course Information Morning                                                                                          

25 January Monday

Semester 2 begins

26 March Friday  Classes finish for Easter
TBC Monday Start date for Apprentice Block

Institute Closes 2 April 2021

Institute Re-opens 6 April 2021

12 April                     Monday  Classes recommence after Easter
30 April Friday Semester 2 ends
5 May Wednesday Online Digital Open Day
3 - 7 May Monday-Friday (inclusive) Study Week
10-21 May Monday-Friday (inclusive) Summer Examinations 

*While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of information in this calendar, the Institute reserves the right to make reasonable amendments to details and cannot be held responsible for inaccuracies or omissions.

Download DkIT Academic Calendar