Skip to main content

Academic Calendar 2022/2023

The DkIT Academic Year runs from September to August each year. Most programmes are organised on a semester basis with two semesters per academic year. View the latest Academic Calendar for DkIT.

The Academic Year runs from September to August. Most programs are organised on a semester basis, there being two semesters in the academic year. Apprenticeship programs may run on a different timetable. In certain cases, where work placement is involved, these dates may vary.  If in doubt students should contact their department

SEMESTER 1 - 2022 - September to December                                                                                                                                             

5 September        Monday

Semester 1 starts for 3rd and 4th Year Nursing and Midwifery students and Higher Diploma in Midwifery Students.

12 September Monday
Semester 1 starts for all other continuing full-time students
19 September Monday Start Date for Apprentice Block
26-27 September Monday-Tuesday 1st Year Induction (1st years only on campus)
28 September Wednesday Semester 1 starts for 1st Years
31 October Monday-Friday 

Study/Reading Week

1-2 November Tuesday-Wednesday

Graduation / Conferring

9 November Wednesday

Open Evening

16 December Friday

Semester 1 ends

Institute Closes 24th December 2022

Re-Opens 3rd January 2023

SEMESTER 2 - 2023 - January to August                                                                                                                                              

3 January Tuesday Start date for Apprentice Block
4 January Wednesday Start Date for Winter Examinations
21 January Saturday

CAO Open Morning

23 January Monday

Semester 2 begins

29 March Wednesday Open Evening
31 March Friday Classes finish for Easter
3 April Monday Start Date for Apprentice Block

Institute Closes 7th April 2023

Institute Re-opens 11th April 2023

17 April                     Monday  Classes recommence after Easter
5 May Friday Semester 2 ends
8 May Monday Study Week
15 — 26 May Monday to Friday (inclusive) Summer Examinations

*While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information in this calendar, the Institute reserves the right to make reasonable amendments to details and cannot be held responsible for inaccuracies or omissions.