Skip to main content

Academic Calendar 2021/2022

The DkIT Academic Year runs from September to August each year. Most programmes are organised on a semester basis with two semesters per academic year. View the latest Academic Calendar for DkIT.

The Academic Year runs from September to August. Most programmes are organised on a semester basis with two semesters per academic year. Apprenticeship programmes may run on a different timetable. In certain cases, where work placement is involved, these dates may vary. If in doubt students should contact their relevant department office.

SEMESTER 1 - 2021 - September to December                                                                                                                                             

6 September        Monday

Semester 1 starts for 4th year Nursing & Midwifery Students

7 September Tuesday
Part-time course Information Evening
13 September Monday
Semester 1 starts for 2nd and 3rd year Nursing & Midwifery and 2nd year early childhood studies
16 - 17 September Thursday - Friday

2nd Year Re-Freshers (Welcome back on campus)

20 September Monday Semester 1 starts for all other continuing students
23 - 24 September Thursday-Friday 

1st Year Induction (1st years only on campus)

Semester 1 starts for all 1st Year Students

27 September Monday

Start Date for Apprentice Block

25 October Monday - Friday 

Study/Reading Week

27 - 29 October Wednesday - Friday

Conferring / Graduation

15 — 20 November Monday — Saturday

Undergraduate Open Days

17 December Friday Semester 1 ends

Institute Closes 24 December 2021

Re-Opens 4th January 2022

SEMESTER 2 - 2022 - January to August                                                                                                                                              

4 January Tuesday Start date for Apprentice Block
17 January Monday Start Date for Winter Examinations — Online
17 January Monday

CAO Online Information Morning

2 February Wednesday

Semester 2 begins

4 April Monday Start date for Apprentice Block
8 April Friday Classes finish for Easter

Institute Closes 15 April 2022

Institute Re-opens 19 April 2022

20 April Wednesday Spring Open Day
25 April                     Monday  Classes recommence after Easter
6 May Friday Semester 2 ends
12 May Thursday Summer Examinations Begin
20 June Monday End of Academic Year

*While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of information in this calendar, the Institute reserves the right to make reasonable amendments to details and cannot be held responsible for inaccuracies or omissions.