Skip to main content

Entrepreneurship, Leadership, Marketing and Management (ELMM) Research Group

The ELMM Research Group was established in the School of Business and Humanities in April 2021. The acronym ELMM represents the research disciplines of Entrepreneurship, Leadership, Marketing and Management. The group consists of ten academic staff, three PhD candidates and two Masters by research candidates and is managed by Dr Kate Johnston and Dr Maeve Mc Ardle.

The research mission of ELMM is to;

Advance knowledge through empirical and applied based research that addresses contemporary business and management challenges faced by businesses, public organisations and policy-makers in the North East region.

In order to build a collaborative, vibrant and sustainable research community within the School, ELMM research group has adopted a three tiered strategy; raising the quality and quantity of our research output; building research capacity among post graduate and early stage researchers and securing funding at national and international level to achieve our goals.

The group is building research capacity through collaboration and mentoring with experienced researchers and utilising the research potential of the post graduate MBS programme. This serves as gateway to increasing Master by Research and PhD students within the School. To facilitate, this funding is being sourced through various national and international organisations. This multidimensional approach is designed to grow and enhance the research output in terms of conference papers, journal articles, research seminars and other research publications.  

A number of the group members are working on European funded projects directly or in a consultative role. In addition to various publications and conference papers, the group has made applications for TUFT funding for PhD and Masters research students.

ELMM research group members

Name Position Contact
Dr. Maeve McArdle  Co-lead
Dr. Kate Johnston  Co-lead
Maeve Caraher    
Colin Cooney    
Dr Jennifer Fegan    
Angela Hamouda     
Emma Mc Caffrey    
Annemarie McHugh    
Emer McKenna    
Dr. Ana Panero-Gomez    
John Sisk