Skip to main content

New DkIT Governing Body Chairperson Announced

17 November 2023

Dundalk Institute of Technology are delighted to announce the appointment of a new chairperson to DkIT’s Governing Body along with new Governing Body members.

The new chairperson is Professor Thomas Collins. Tom is no stranger to the Institute as he served as President of DkIT from 2001 – 2006.  

Professor Collins brings a vast and invaluable wealth of experience to the role. In recent years he has worked in various chairing and facilitation roles in the Institute of Technology/Technological University sector, for example leading the merger of Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT), Blanchardstown IT and Tallaght IT to form Ireland’s first Technological University, the Technological University of Dublin (TUD). Tom was also an external facilitator in the merger of Athlone Institute of Technology (AIT) and Limerick Institute of Technology (LIT) to become Technological University of the Shannon (TUS).  In 2020, he was lead author on a study of workload allocation models in higher education institutions in Ireland and abroad.  He is currently co-chair (with Prof Anne Looney and Minister Simon Harris) of the higher education funding implementation group.  In 2016, he led the development of a national framework of student engagement in Irish Higher Education Institutions on behalf of the Higher Education Authority. 

Dr Diarmuid O’Callaghan, President of DkIT said,

“The Chair of the Governing Body, is a critical role, and Tom’s vast sectoral experience will be of immense value to DkIT, in optimising our contribution in the strategic discussions with Maynooth University.  I look forward to reconnecting with Tom on this journey that is ahead of DkIT”.

Dr O’Callaghan added

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing Chairperson, Mr Patrick W Malone, for his dedication and time on the Governing Body.  He has been a committed public servant and both I and the members of DkIT’s Governing Body thank him most sincerely for all his hard work”. 

Prof Collins will be joined on the Governing Body by the following members that were also appointed yesterday. External Members include Ms. Ann Marie Lacey, Ms. Anna Shakespeare, Mr. Bill Sweeney, Dr. Jennifer Brennan, Mr. Patrick W. Malone and Mr Richard Hanlon.

Internal Members include, Ms. Ciara O’Shea, Mr. Eoin Clarke, Ms. Holly Lambe-Sally, Mr. Mark Lee, Mr. Fergus Grimes, Ms. Antoinette O’Rourke, Dr. Fiona Lawless and Mr. Pat McCormick.

These appointments are in line with the Procedures for the Appointment of Governing Body for Dundalk Institute of Technology, as approved by the Governing Body and the Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science.


All Media Enquiries

  • Marketing & Communications