Skip to main content

DkIT v DCU Sigerson Cup 2018

01 February 2018

DKIT exited the Sigerson Cup with their heads held high, narrowly losing out to heavyweight DCU, in what was a cagey affair played out in Darver.

DKIT 0-7

DCU 1-7

The Louth college put up a very creditable performance and at times looked like they could have caused what would have been one of the biggest upsets in Sigerson Cup history, but it was DCU whose perseverance eventually set up a Dublin derby with UCD next week.

David Mannix opened the scoring for DCU with a free in front of goal, but the hosts responded magnificently with Longford star David McGivney leveling immediately.Donal Meegan put DkIT into the lead with a well-taken point and their lead was doubled shortly afterwards when a long-range free from Tadhg McEneaney sailed between the posts.

Midway through the first half, DCU were dealt a major blow when corner-back Barry Kerr was dismissed with a straight red card for an alleged stamp on opposition midfielder Ciaran Bellew. DkIT’s Niall Kearns and the visitors’ Desmond Ward traded points before DkIT entered the changing rooms with a slender lead at the interval.

 The second half was a poor affair in truth, with a free from McEneaney the first score of the half. Éanna Ó Conchuir and Conor Doherty then exchanged points before the former converted a penalty on which the game would swing – this after Stephen O’Brien was fouled. It was very hard blow to take for McConvilles side, as the offense seemed to occur outside the penalty area. Niall Kearns responded for DkIT with a score, but that was as good as it got for the Louth college, as DCU scored the final four points of the game to advance to the quarters by the skin of their teeth.

It was a fantastic performance from DKIT, who can take a lot of positives from the campaign, as the college was very close to eliminating a traditional Sigerson Cup powerhouse.

Scorers for DkIT: Niall Kearns 0-1 (1f), Tadhg McEneaney 0-2 (2f), Conor Doherty 0-1, David McGivney 0-1, Donal Meegan 0-1

Scorers for DCU: Éanna O’Connor 1-3 (1p, 1f), Desmond Ward 0-2, David Mannix 0-1 (1f), Shane Carthy 0-1


1. Joe O’Donoghue (Cavan)

2. Colm Meegan (Monaghan)

3. Conor Lenehan (Louth)

4. Ian Connor (Louth)

5. Eunan Walsh (Antrim)

6. Cormac Daly (Cavan)

7. Kevin Traynor (Meath)

8. Niall Kearns (Monaghan)

9. Ciaran Bellew (Louth)

10. Gea McSorley (Louth)

11. Conor Doherty (Donegal)

12. David McGivney (Longford)

13. Tadhg McEneaney (Louth)

14. Shea Hoey (Armagh)

15. Donal Meegan (Monaghan)

Replacements: 24. Dean Maguire (Louth) for Bellew (50); 25. Sean Marry (Louth) for Hoey (54); 22. Aaron O’Brien (Louth) for McEneaney (59)



1. Evan Comerford (Dublin)

2. Ciaran Boylan (Meath)

3. Fintan Kelly (Monaghan)

4. Barry Kerr (Monaghan)

5. Desmond Ward (Monaghan)

6. Shairoze Akram (Mayo)

7. Paddy Durcan (Mayo)

8. Stephen O’Brien (Tipperary)

9. Caolan McGonagle (Donegal)

10. Desmond Reynolds (Longford)

14. Shane Carthy (Dublin)

12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)

13. Michael Bannigan (Monaghan)

11. Éanna Ó Conchuir (Kerry)

15. David Mannix (Kerry)

Replacements: 17. James Mealiff (Monaghan) for McGonagle (41); 29. Conor Bradley (Cavan) for Mannix (45)

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath)