Student Work Based Projects

Could your business benefit from an objective analysis of an opportunity or problem? Do you have ideas about how to develop your business but haven’t time or resource to evaluate the options? Would you like to contribute towards a student's degree programme and, in doing so, enable them to gain valuable skills and experience which are essential in the competitive graduate job market?

One of DkIT’s student projects could therefore be the answer. These work experience opportunities match students with organisations to undertake a defined project, either on a part-time or full-time basis. Student Project opportunities are available across our 4 academic schools (Business & Humanities; Engineering; Informatics & Creative Arts and Health & Science) from undergraduate to masters level.

What are the benefits to you?

Develop greater links

Develop greater links between industry and the Institute, sharing knowledge and expertise beyond the project.

 Fresh insights

Fresh insights into your business area from enthusiastic students who can provide fresh perspective.

Address a business need

Address a business need by proposing a project topic which meets a specific requirement within your organisation.

Raising your company profile

Raising your company profile amongst relevant students with the opportunity to subsequently recruit the student into a graduate role.

Benefits to students:

develop valuable employability skills

Providing a project allows students to develop valuable employability skills.

apply theoretical ideas in real world

Opportunities to apply theoretical ideas in real world workplace contexts

transferable skills

Gain transferable skills through practical experience with leading employers

Networking

Networking opportunities with potential employers

Speak to our schools about your project: 

School of Business & Humanities

Head of School of Business & Humanities

Dr Patricia Moriarty

042 9370251  Patricia.moriarty@dkit.ie 
Head of Department of Business Studies Professor Colette Henry 042 9370252  colette.henry@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Management & Financial Studies Shane Hill 042 9370254  shane.hill@dkit.ie 
Head of Department of Humanities Dr David Getty 042 9370255 david.getty@dkit.ie 
Head of Department of Hospitality Studies Brianáin Erraught 042 9370256 brianain.erraught@dkit.ie

School of Engineering

Head of School of Engineering

Dr Tom Dooley

042 9370272 tom.dooley@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Electronic & Mechanical Engineering Colman Ledwith 0429370274 Colman.ledwith@dkit.ie

Head of Department of the Built Environment

Noel McKenna 042 9370275 noel.mckenna@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Civil Engineering and Trades Pat McCormick 042 9370273 pat.mccormick@dkit.ie 
Head of Section of Mechanical Engineering Padraig McGuigan 042 9370200 padraig.mcguigan@dkit.ie

School of Informatics & Creative Arts

Head of School of Informatics & Creative Arts

Dr Gerard Bob McKiernan

042 9370282 gerardbob.mckiernan@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Computing Science & Mathematics Dr Fiona Lawless 042 9370283 fiona.lawless@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Visual & Human-Centred Computing Dr Brendan Ryder 042 9370200 brendan.ryder@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Creative Arts, Media and Music Dr Adele Commins 042 9370286 adele.commins@dkit.ie

School of Health & Science

Head of School of Health & Science

Dr Edel Healy

042 9370262 edel.healy@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Nursing, Midwifery and & Early Years Dr Myles Hackett 042 9370263 myles.hackett@dkit.ie
Head of Midwifery Section Dr Kathleen Nallen 042 9370264 kathleen.nallen@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Life and Health Sciences Dr Arjan Van Rossum 042 9370265 arjan.vanrossum@dkit.ie
Head of Department of Agriculture, Food & Animal Health TBD TBD TBD